logo     European College of Human Ecology - COH Europe

Start COH Summer University Summer University 2016

The Future of Sustainable Food Business

International Summer University 2016

An ambitious program for gap year students and freshmen

The Summer University on the Future of Sustainable Food Business will address controversial questions regarding our food system, its sustainability, and innovative concepts in sustainable business to realize changes. It will challenge students to bring the discussion on sustainability into practice through real-world case scenarios with local partners in Emmendingen.

Students will develop skills for a needed local and global transition to a sustainable food system. The content of the Summer University is relevant to both nations of the Global South and to industrialized countries. Students from different regions of the world will have ample opportunity to share their experiences from their diverse cultural perspectives


Goat cheese dairy Monte Ziego

Work and research in a Real World Lab

Field trip during the summer university 2015

Sustainable food entrepreneurs are at the forefront of changes and challenges in the food system. Such enterprises take advantage of the value squandered by the linear industrial economy. They are redefining farming, production, distribution, consumption, and food waste as a resource.Students will be introduced to new frameworks in sustainable business, human ecology, and food systems, as well as con-cepts in meal cultures, power dynamics, and community food assessment. Students will be exposed to relevant subject matter, theoretical concepts, and practical skills in a Real World Lab, with emphasis on practical learning through a transdisciplinary group project in the open ambience of a Charrette in the heart of Emmendingen.

After visiting local food systems partners, students will divide themselves into groups of three to four in order to investigate and address a self-chosen problem together with one partner business or organization.

Each group will analyze the unique challenges of their partner and will evaluate the potential to incor-porate or expand sustainability into its business strategy. Simultaneously, students will combine their observations from Emmendingen and new concepts from lectures and discussions to analyze the local food system and its sustainability. At the end of the two weeks, groups will present findings, key con-cepts, and any recommendations in a public exhibi-tion for the town of Emmendingen.

Print Version
Download this Flyer

Standard Version


Poster Version (A3)

Students will have ample time to gather first-hand experience on site with their partner business or organization, and work autonomously in teams to develop their projects. Experienced faculty members from both DGH and COA will work with the students to guide their learning, while respecting individual interests and creativity and encouraging students to self-organize.

The Real World Lab takes the form of a Charrette, i.e., a workshop open to the public, giving all interested citizens the opportunity to be involved in process. As work progresses the student groups will show inter-im results and at the end in the final exhibition.

The town of Emmendingen

Emmendingen is a town near Freiburg im Breisgau. The Freiburg region represents the origin of the environmental movement in Germany. Not surpris-ingly, the region offers a variety of links to the pro-gram, including a long tradition of exceptionally high-quality food production. It is a hotspot of biodynamic agriculture – the Demeter Movement – and also hosts a Slow Food association. There is also an investiga-tion into the possibility of urban roof farming on factory buildings at the Wehrle-Werk AG, an industri-al center for energy and environmental technology that has hospitably opened an extra office building for our working space. The tiny exclusive Art-Hotel Markgraf offers a welcoming place to stay.

Local business and organizations have offered to support as partners. They represent diverse areas of the food system, ranging from organic and biody-namic farming, food production and distribution, to local food business investment, gleaning food ‘waste’, and the slow food movement.

The people and businesses of Emmendingen whole-heartedly supported every aspect of the first DGH Summer University in 2015, with much excitement the supporting steps towards establishing the Euro-pean College of Human Ecology directly in the town.

Future College of Human Ecology

A transatlantic American-German Cooperation

The German Society for Human Ecology (DGH), founded in 1975, has had sustainable education on its agenda since the very beginning. In 2006 its Commit-tee for a European College of Human Ecology was established to explore possibilities of founding a liberal arts college in Germany. The College of the Atlantic (COA) is a small college on Mount Desert Island, off the coast of Maine, offering an excellent human ecology study program since 1969.

Responsible for the program:
Professor Jay Friedlander, Sharpe-McNally Chair of Green and Sustainable Responsible Business (College of the Atlantic)
Dr. Wolfgang H. Serbser (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Humanökologie)

logo     Europäische Hochschule der Humanökologie - European College of Human Ecology

Start Sommeruniversitäten Sommeruniversität 2016

The Future of Sustainable Food Business

Internationale Sommeruniversität 2016

Ein ambitioniertes Programm für Abiturienten und Studienanfänger

Die Sommeruniversität The Future of Sustainable Food Business wird die kontroverse Diskussion um unser heutiges Ernährungssystem, seiner nachhaltigen Entwicklung und möglicher innovative Konzepte eines Wandels hin zu einer grünen Ernährungswirtschaft untersuchen. Sie wird Studierenden die Fähigkeit vermitteln, theoretische Aspekte nachhaltiger Entwicklung in die Praxis zu übertragen.

In echten Fallszenarien werden sie zusammen mit Unternehmen der Region Emmendingen Ansätze entwickeln, die sowohl für die lokale als auch globale Transformation des Ernährungssystem benötigt werden. Sowohl für Länder des Globalen Südens als auch für die Industrienationen relevant, wird Studierende aus allen Regionen der Welt damit die Möglichkeit zum Austausch ihrer Erfahrungen aus der Vielfalt ihrer kulturellen Perspektiven gegeben

.

Ziegenkäserei Monte Ziego

Arbeiten und Forschen im Reallabor

Exkursion während der Sommer-Uni 2015

Nachhaltige Lebensmittelunternehmen stehen im Zentrum der Herausforderungen und Veränderungen des Ernährungssystems. Sie bauen auf die Vorteile gegenüber der traditionellen ressourcenverschwendenden Lebensmittelindustrie, transformieren den Anbau, die Produktion, Verteilung und den Konsum und nutzen vermeintliche Lebensmittelabfälle als Ressource.

Eine Einführung in Konzepte nachhaltiger Unternehmensentwicklung, human-ökologische Ansätze des Ernährungssystems gepaart mit Konzepten der Mahlzeitenkulturen, politischer Willensbildung und gesellschaftlicher Bewertung bilden die Basis, auf der Studierende relevante Inhalte, theoretische Konzepte und Forschungsmethoden in einem Reallabor erarbeiten, um ihr Wissen in einer transdisziplinären praxisorientierten Gruppenarbeit und offenen Atmosphäre einer Charrette im Herzen Emmendingens anzuwenden.

Nach einem Besuch ausgewählter Lebensmittelunternehmen bilden die Studierenden dreier- oder vierer-Gruppen um selbstgewählte Fragestellungen in und mit den Partnerbetrieben zu untersuchen. Dabei werden die besonderen Herausforderungen der Betriebe analysiert, um geeignete Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien zu integrieren. Gleichzeitig verbinden sie ihre Beobachtungen des Emmendinger Marktgeschehens und Erkenntnisse aus Vorlesungen und Diskussionen um die Nachhaltigkeitspotentiale des lokalen Ernährungssystems abzuschätzen. Am Ende dieser zweiwöchigen Arbeit präsentieren die Gruppen ihre Ergebnisse, Konzepte und Empfehlungen in einer öffentlichen Ausstellung in Emmendingen.

Druckversion
Flyer zum herunterladen
Standardversion

&

Posterversion (A3)

Studierende lernen die Betriebspraxis wie auch das Arbeiten im gemeinsamen Reallabor kennen. Erfah-rene Lehrende beider Institutionen, der DGH und des COA, begleiten die Studierenden in ihrem Lernpro-zess; dabei gilt es die Kreativität und individuellen Interessen der jungen Studierenden als auch das selbstorganisierte Arbeiten zu fördern.

Das Reallabor ist in Form einer Charrette organisiert, einer öffentlichen Projektwerkstatt, die den Partner-betrieben und interessierten Bürgerinnen und Bür-gern die direkte Beteiligung an den Studienprozessen ermöglicht. Zwischenergebnisse können visualisiert und zur Diskussion gestellt werden. Zum Abschluss der Sommeruniversität präsentieren alle Gruppen ihre Ergebnisse in einer Ausstellung nebst Katalog.

Die Stadt Emmendingen

Emmendigen ist eine kleine Stadt nahe Freiburg im Breisgau. Die Region bietet viele Anknüpfungspunkte für unser Reallabor. Die Produktion und Verarbeitung hochwertiger Nahrungsmittel hat eine lange Tradition: So ist die Region ein Hotspot der biodynamischen Landwirtschaft, der Demeter Bewe-gung. Es überrascht nicht, dass auch Slow Food präsent ist. Emmendingen verfügt über Fragmente mittelalterlicher Stadtgärten und hat Pläne, diese zu restaurieren. Einer der wichtigsten Industriebetriebe der Stadt, die Wehrle-Werk AG, entwickelt und baut Anlagen der Energie- und Umwelttechnologie. Als Unterkunft werden wir im gemütlichen und freundlichen Ambiente des Hotels Markgraf willkommen geheißen. Die Gruppen werden ihre Projekte mit unterschiedlichen lokalen Partnern entwickeln. Sie kommen u.a. aus den Bereichen der biologisch- dynamischen Landwirtschaft, dem Zwischenhandel, einer Ziegenkäserei, dem Weinbau oder gemein-schaftlichen Gartenbauprojekten (urban gardens).

Die Einwohner und Unternehmen Emmendingens unterstützten die Sommeruniversität 2015 großartig und trugen so auch zu der Entwicklung für ein künftiges Europäisches College für Humanökologie in ihrer Stadt bei. Damit fand nach 2011 bereits eine die zweite erfolgreiche Charrette in Emmendingen statt.

Geplantes College der Humanökologie

Eine deutsch-amerikanische Zusammenarbeit

Die 1975 gegründete Deutsche Gesellschaft für Humanökologie (DGH) engagiert sich seit Anbeginn für nachhaltige Bildung. Ihr 2006 ins Leben gerufener Gründungsausschuss European College of Human Ecology arbeitet an der Realisierung eines Liberal Arts and Sciences College in Deutschland. Das College of the Atlantic (COA) ist eine renommierte Universität auf Mount Desert Island vor der Küste von Maine und bietet seit 1969 ein exzellentes humanökologisches Studienprogramm.

Programmverantwortliche:
Prof. Jay Friedlander (College of the Atlantic)
Dr. Wolfgang H. Serbser (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Humanökologie)